Good, Better… Perfect

Standard

Ok, I’m doing this during peak period. My oga (not the one I was crushing on o! This one is my direct line manager) is typing on my desk so I can do this without feeling bad. Now I’m editing and it’s almost 8.00 p.m.

You remember that rhyme..? Good, better, best..? I think it was something like this:

Good, better, best!
I will never rest
Until my good is better
And my better, best!

We used to chant this in class (bladdy mantra!), on assembly, in brownie meetings, every where we were, everywhere we went, there seemed to always be a reason to remind us that we could do better, reach farther, go higher. In the innocence and naiveté of childhood, we believed. (Have heard Kelly Rowland’s WC song? ‘Go farther! Go stronger! 😉 Hehehe) Eeeanywayz, I continued to grow, then I got to know God and grow in Him. Its funny to now realise that I had a similar response to the Bible version of that rhyme:

Don’t become like the people of this world. Instead, change the way you think. Then you will always be able to determine what God really wants—what is good, pleasing, and perfect. (God’s Word Translation)

Don’t become so well-adjusted to your culture that you fit into it without even thinking. Instead, fix your attention on God. You’ll be changed from the inside out. Readily recognize what he wants from you, and quickly respond to it. Unlike the culture around you, always dragging you down to its level of immaturity, God brings the best out of you, develops well-formed maturity in you. (The Message)

And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. (N.K.J.V.)

It’s amazing how much details God can get into where His children are concerned! He broke it down to good, acceptable and perfect… Some of us don’t even scrutinize that deep. Most times, we are ok with the surface vibes we get. As long as it looks good, aye? Been there too.

One of the many things I am coming to understand from God’s word is that man is a spirit and things that happen in his life are predominantly controlled by spiritual stimuli. For this reason, I tend to follow the thought that says that as a spirit, man is able to control, influence, take notice of and determine the advent of ‘additions’ to his/her world. It’s really simple logic. The bigger world is an offshoot and reflection of our individual worlds. If things and events can be discovered before they happen in the bigger world, I think the same applies to each person’s private world.
David, under inspiration, and backed up by Jesus centuries after, said:

Ye are gods and children of the Most High“.

What does this mean to me as a believer? It means I am divine. It means I am supernatural. It means I have abilities and tendencies that supersede the workings of this world as we know it. It means dominion is my default mode. It means I am the one Superman 1-3 was themed after (kryptonite and all). It means…wow! But that is not where I’m heading. New creation realities are like totally out of this world! My thinking is more in the light of our ability to make right choices, to identify ‘the right’ way, plan, decision and the right man. (Sheet!! I am so damn predictable!)

I had a convo with Berean Girl after my last post and by the time we were done rubbing off on each other, I figured that it was all about knowing the will of God. There is an amazing sense of peace that comes from ‘knowing’ the will of God. I have experienced knowing God’s will can come in two main ways. The one I was used to initially was the knowing what to do part. Getting specific instructions for specific issues. Having an idea of specific directions. That one I absolutely like! It’s like having expo in an exam (experienced that one too)! When you know the topic that would come out in a 1question 30mark CA! Kai! Lecturers wicked sha! The second one that I am coming to know is the ‘knowing God has a plan but not knowing the exact plan’ kinda knowing. Aahh… It’s taking me some time too… It takes a considerable amount of trust in God’s love and His kindness towards me. I’m not exactly used to folks being sincere without an ulterior motive, from growing up issues. However, I’m having to deal with all these issues so I can trust God. It can be difficult at times. Just like Abraham in Genesis 22 could find it in his heart to trust a God that asked him, point blank to go kill his son! That takes, not guts, but trust, based on experience!

Check this, you are a Ibo/American/Tutsi man/ex soldier who experienced the war and was saved, through many trails, adventures and life threatening circumstances,not a couple, but many, by a Hausa/Afghanistan/Hutu man/soldier who has, over the years, after the war, become your blood brother. Despite your many differences, you trust him like you would yourself because he has proven, just as you have, that you share a bond that supersedes history, current affairs and tribal/racial differences. Actually, the brotherhood thingy kinda came for scenarios like this. Anywayz, before I go off again (goodness, my thoughts are erratic!), that scenario is kinda where Abraham and God were. As a matter of fact, they had cut a blood covenant!

They had been through some serious shit (forgive my uncultured Spanish) stuff together! Jehovah (blessed forever more) had seen Abraham through deserts, wife snatching cannibals, hysterical drama with wife and mistress, death in the hands of two pharaohs and 5 kings… These stuff might sound like ‘Gladiator 2’ to you, but they were mean realities of those times. It took a blood brother, a kindred spirit, a true blood, to stand by you, fight with you (must have the capacity else his presence becomes a burden) back to back, and celebrate with you after all is won and not turn on you out of sheer boredom. Abraham and God had been through all that, their relationship had survived the worst possible physical, emotional and psychological turmoils (Lot’s departure, delivering him from slavery, the loss of Lot’s wife (with Abraham being in the know ahead of the event! How traumatizing! 😦 ), his wife’s disbelief of his encounters with God (hence her laughing at the ‘Angels’ prophecy), woman dramas that tested his faith, God’s forgiveness afterwards,leaving his people in Ur, being laughed at for a name that mocked his childlessness). They had been through major fraking shit together! And through it all, God remained constant, faithful and true to His promises. I noticed that all through the account on Abraham, the promises never changed. It never went higher or lower. It was always the same (and still is today). And when it looked like major crap was about to hit the fan (as a result of Abraham’s actions or responses to God’s instructions), God would always show up, come through, represent sha (threaten Abimelech and that other Pharaoh dude in a dream, defeat 5 nations with Abraham’s less than 300 (or thereabouts) servants…) And that made Abraham even trust Him more. They were blood tied (Genesis 12) and he could trust this Pardner, this Pardner was a good Pardner. He could go back to back with this Pardner… He didn’t fear to circumsize himself and all the men living under him, in the middle of the desert, surrounded by potential enemies (remember, Abraham was stupendously rich. And everyone knew. He could have been attacked, his women taken, his only son killed…), so when this Pardner asked for his son, Abraham could only ‘know’ there was a plan. he didn’t have the details. But somehow, he figured, in his heart (oh, the beauty of being led by the Spirit of God), that this was in the plan. He could see something significant, vaguely, distant, but he could see this sacrifice he was being asked to make somehow benefiting him… He just knew…! That just fills my heart with joy unspeakable! (I feel like dancing round my office and then skipping home!)

And so when Abraham took Isaac to the top of Hebron, he was saying, like Paul said:

For the which cause I also suffer these things: nevertheless I am not ashamed: for I know whom I have believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto him against that day. (2Tim. 1:12)

This type of knowing comes from a relationship. When the Bible said that He would never put on us more than we can bear, I used the get the picture of God teaching me how to lift weights. I thpugt, well, it’s my job to continue to increase my capacity, it’s His job to test me periodically with temptation. I think I was wrong. I don’t think that passage was talking about an exam, that would be a legalistic God.

But now brethren, THERE IS GRACE! (Oh, I sound so kasko!)

I think now, that my opinion on that scripture is that God will take me through the process that would prepare me for my next test. And just as peeps who go to Igbinedion University and Babcock never have extras, I cannot fail a test that God sets for me! (When it looks like you failed is another topic for another day). Why? Cos, he set the questions, then he came back and taught me the topics in accordance with how the questions will come out! He gave me the expo! And it gets better! He’s marking my script! Oh wow…! Better still, He’s the only one on the Board that sets the cut off, issues the certificates and approves graduation! It is total cheating on my behalf!! lol!

Look at Abraham’s story, God started him from “Yo, ‘Bram, do you think you are mad, hearing voices or ‘this is Jehovah talking to ya’?” to “Dude, I need your son’s blood for my feast in the clouds tonight”. He didn’t get there over night… He got there through God’s patience and his willingness to obey and follow God. It took over 30years, but he made it that far. And because of what Abraham did, today, we all have grace. We were that speck that Abraham saw, ‘knew’ and gave him the confidence to follow through. Now, I’m wondering, what is this speck that I am seeing…?

Yes, I’m done with the intro, now back to my original topic.

Good, better, Perfect.  Another time, I guess… lol!

6 responses »

  1. This type of knowing comes from a relationship. When the Bible said that He would never put on us more than we can bear, I used the get the picture of God teaching me how to lift weights. I thpugt, well, it’s my job to continue to increase my capacity, it’s His job to test me periodically with temptation. I think I was wrong. I don’t think that passage was talking about an exam, that would be a legalistic God.

    ++++++++++

    You’re right. God is not legalistic and he doesn’t tempt us. We are accused by the Devil but God always allows us enough grace to overcome. If only we knew.

    Great post.

  2. I love this. Especially the two ways to knowing God—> specific instructions and just knowing only a part & realizing that He knows the bigger picture (and that’s okay). I’m getting used to the second part more because slowly and surely God is unraveling things in my life that I didn’t know were part of the bigger picture.

  3. @ Jaycee – veri true. It’s usually difficult in the begining, but if you stay in the fire, jus like the eagle, with winds locked in the storm, the very things that felled you before will now make you strong… Its a beautiful place, where I am… I never want to leave this “school of the Spirit”!

Leave a Reply

